Virginia Tech® home

Provosts and Vice Provosts


In 1976 the board of visitors approved a recommendation by President William Lavery that changed the name of the vice president for academic affairs to provost. Beginning with the person in the position at that time, provosts have been

  • John D. Wilson (1978-82)
  • David P. Roselle (1983-87)
  • John Perry (interim, 1987-89)
  • E. Fred Carlisle (1989-94)
  • N. Gregory Brown (interim, 1995)
  • Peggy S. Meszaros (1995-2000)
  • James R. Bohland (interim, 2000-01)
  • Mark G. McNamee (2001-2015)
  • Thanassis Rikakis (2015-2017)
  • Cyril Clarke (interim , 2017-2019)
  • Cyril Clarke (2019- )


Vice Provosts

The first vice provost was Gary R. Hooper, named vice provost for research and graduate studies in 1984. Over time, other vice-provost positions have been added. Some remained intact through the term of one person and were then abandoned, some remained intact but with title alterations, and others simply remained intact until the vice provost title was eliminated. In 1990, the university consolidated the vice provost for graduate studies and research and the dean of the Graduate School to reduce administrative costs, but in 2001 the positions were divided to focus more attention on the university’s goal of reaching the top 30 research universities in the country. In 1996 outreach and international programs were separated, but in 2002 international programs were added to outreach once again, and the vice provost for outreach became the vice provost for outreach and international affairs. A new vice-provost title, vice provost for graduate studies, was added to the dean of the Graduate School title in 2002. In 2008, the vice provost title was changed to vice president. Vice provosts until the 2008 title change have included the following:

  • Academic affairs-James F. Wolfe (1990-95); John D. Fulton (1996-97); David R. Ford (1998-08; position changed to vice president in 2009, Daniel Wubah appointed)
  • Administration-John Perry (1985-87)
  • Extension-Mitchell R. Geasler (1985-89)
  • Graduate studies and dean of the Graduate School-Karen P. DePauw (2002-08; title changed to vice president)
  • Inclusion and diversity and vice president for strategic affairs-Menah Pratt-Clarke (2016-)
  • International programs-Patrick Liverpool (1996-97)
  • Outreach-Clark Jones (1998-2002)
  • Outreach and economic development-Dixon Hanna (interim, 1996-98)
  • Outreach and international affairs-Clark Jones (2002-03); John E. Dooley (2003-08; title changed to vice president)
  • Outreach and international programs-Patrick R. Liverpool (1993-96)
  • Research-Leonard K. Peters (2001-03); James B. Blair (interim, 2003-04); title changed to vice president
  • Research and graduate studies-Gary R. Hooper (1984-90)
  • Research and dean of the Graduate School-Gary R. Hooper (1990-92); Ernest R. Stout (acting, 1992-93); Leonard K. Peters (1993-2001)
  • Special initiatives-Leonard A. Ferrari (2000-03)
  • Undergraduate Academic Affairs - Rachel Holloway (2013- ; position created when Daniel Wubah resigned)