Virginia Tech®home

Presidential Principles of Community Award

Established in 2013, this award recognizes faculty and staff members who exemplify the Virginia Tech "Principles of Community" and have demonstrated an impact on diversity and inclusion at the university. This award is meant to recognize individuals whose efforts and understanding have resulted in programming, curricula, or other meaningful impact on diversity and inclusion. This award is sponsored by the Office for the Senior Vice President and Provost. The award recipient is selected by the Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity (CEOD) and will receive a $2000 cash prize funded by the President’s Office at the annual Faculty Staff Awards Ceremony. Nomination information can be found on this page.

2022 Melissa Faircloth, Eric Glenn, Tamarah Smith, Black Caucus of Virginia Tech - Team Award
2021 Edward Polanco (Recent Individual Award)
2021 Brandy Faulkner (Long Term Individual Award)
2021 Graduate Student Success in Multicultural Environments (GSSME) (Group Award)
2021 Translational Biology, Medicine, and Health Graduate Program (Department Award)
2020 Mae Hey (Recent Individual Award)
2020 Carlos Evia (Long Term Individual Award)
2020 Latin Link (Group Award)
2019 Chris Tysor (Recent Individual award)
2019 Sam Cook (Long term Individual award)
2019 Department of Religion and Culture (Department award)
2019 Virginia Dares Team (Group award)
2018 María del Carmen Caña Jiménez (Teaching/Research Faculty award)
2018 Amanda Morris (Teaching/Research Faculty award)
2018 Latanya Walker (AP Faculty and Staff award)
2018 John Gray Williams (AP Faculty and Staff award)
2017 (Faculty award) - Randy Grayson
2017 Betty Anderson (Staff award)
2016 Bev Watford (Faculty award)
2016 Linda Greene (Staff award)
2015 Karen DePauw
2014 Jean Elliott