Virginia Tech®home

Presidential Principles of Community Award

Established in 2013, this award recognizes faculty and staff members who exemplify the Virginia Tech "Principles of Community" and have demonstrated an impact on diversity and inclusion at the university. This award is meant to recognize individuals whose efforts and understanding have resulted in programming, curricula, or other meaningful impact on diversity and inclusion. This award is sponsored by the Office for the Senior Vice President and Provost. The award recipient is selected by the Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity (CEOD) and will receive a $2000 cash prize funded by the President’s Office at the annual Faculty Staff Awards Ceremony. Nomination information can be found on this page.

2023: Ellen Banks, Ashleigh “Bing” Bingham, Alicia Cohen, Rebecca Hester, Homero Murzi, HBCU/MSI Research Summit at Virginia Tech - Team Award
2022: Melissa Faircloth, Eric Glenn, Tamarah Smith, Black Caucus of Virginia Tech - Team Award
2021: Edward Polanco (Recent Individual Award)
2021: Brandy Faulkner (Long Term Individual Award)
2021: Graduate Student Success in Multicultural Environments (GSSME) (Group Award)
2021: Translational Biology, Medicine, and Health Graduate Program (Department Award)
2020: Mae Hey (Recent Individual Award)
2020: Carlos Evia (Long Term Individual Award)
2020: Latin Link (Group Award)
2019: Chris Tysor (Recent Individual award)
2019: Sam Cook (Long term Individual award)
2019: Department of Religion and Culture (Department award)
2019: Virginia Dares Team (Group award)
2018: María del Carmen Caña Jiménez (Teaching/Research Faculty award)
2018: Amanda Morris (Teaching/Research Faculty award)
2018: Latanya Walker (AP Faculty and Staff award)
2018: John Gray Williams (AP Faculty and Staff award)
2017: (Faculty award) - Randy Grayson
2017: Betty Anderson (Staff award)
2016: Bev Watford (Faculty award)
2016: Linda Greene (Staff award)
2015: Karen DePauw
2014: Jean Elliott