Virginia Tech® home

NSF Engineering Research Center

Center for Power Electronics Systems - The center was established in 1998 by the National Science Foundation following a $1.5 million pledge of assistance from the commonwealth and the acknowledged support of more than 100 industrial partners. The center operates as a consortium of five universities: Virginia Tech, University of Wisconsin - Madison, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, North Carolina A & T State University, and University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, with Virginia Tech serving as the lead institution.